top of page

Episode 2 Photo Highlights Video - How Veterans Service Organizations Help

CLICK ON THE PHOTO. You'll LOVE Episode 2 - "How Veterans Service Organizations Help!" Photo Highlights Video of the Podcast Series "What Really Helps: Bike+RV+Dog=50 States. In this week’s podcast, we travel from Piercefield, New York in mid-upstate New York to Portland, Maine on the Atlantic coast. After our momentous Day 1 sendoff on 7 Oct 2010 at Watertown NY, this was our first full week out of 52 weeks where Doug cycled 18,067 mi to all 50 States.

During Days 2-8 of the Duty, Honor, America Tour, we learn how much Veterans Service Organizations are helping our veterans. Everywhere we went, with one important exception... local citizens welcomed us with open arms, especially Veterans of Foreign Wars VFWs in the great states of NY, VT, NH, ME.

For me, it was also one of my toughest weeks as the CEO (Chief Everything Officer except cycling!). At several points, I felt like my face was being pushed to the mat... worrying if Doug would freeze before I'd get to him, why I found myself in so many crazy RVing situations 'all by myself' (just like the song🎼), and where I'd find the next Dunkin' Donuts to make life good again.

Click on the photo to catch a glimpse of the events, and the amazing and welcoming people we met during the week! We salute Tupper Lake Police Chief Tom Fee who continued to support our journey, Lake Placid Fire Department , Maine Veterans' Home and VFW Post 3130 Tupper Lake NY, Howard Plant VFW Post 782 Burlington VT, VFW Post 792 Montpelier VT, John W Weeks VFW Post 3041 Lancaster NH, VFW Post 887 Augusta ME, and Portland Maine Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 6859.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
bottom of page